National Association of Gay & Lesbian Real Estate Professionals

Policy Committee

The NAGLREP Policy Committee is a collective of leading national members with a mission to affect housing policy as it relates to equality for the LGBT community.

NAGLREP publishes the following Policy on behalf of our membership

Resolution Concerning Federal Fair Housing Law for LGBT Community

Whereas, federal law protects certain classes from discrimination in all aspects of housing;
Whereas, the LGBT community remains a frequent target for discrimination;
Whereas, free and fair housing is the foundation of a thriving economic market; and
Whereas, a majority of the states of the union do not provide any fair housing protections to members of the LGBT community; now, therefore, be it
Resolved, that the Board of Directors of the National Association of Gay & Lesbian Real Estate Professionals (NAGLREP) prioritizes as a policy proposal, the addition of LGBT protections to the federal Fair Housing Act; and
Resolved, further, that NAGLREP work with the National Association of Realtors and Civil Rights non profits to push for LGBT inclusion in federal fair housing laws.

Resolution Concerning LGBT Protections at HUD

Whereas, there are no federal laws protecting the fair housing rights of LGBT people;
Whereas, the only federal agency that has previously adopted guidance protecting the equal rights of LGBT people is the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD);
Whereas, HUD’s new leadership under Secretary Ben Carson and President Donald Trump have raised concerns about their commitment to LGBT equality;
Whereas, the National Association of Gay & Lesbian Real Estate Professionals (NAGLREP) is a stakeholder at HUD; and
Whereas, HUD maintains some authority to protect and defend the equal housing rights of the LGBT community; now, therefore, be it
Resolved, that the Board of Directors of NAGLREP prioritizes as a policy proposal, monitoring and working with HUD staff and leadership to ensure protections for the LGBT community are not rolled back or negatively impaired in any way.

Chair – John Graff

John spent over a decade working in politics and government before starting his current career in real estate. John is presently a member of the NAR Public Policy Coordinating Committee and a member of the Beverly Hills/Greater Los Angeles Association of Realtors Public Policy Committee. Most recently John served as policy director for the nation’s second largest school district, the Los Angeles Unified School District. John’s previous positions include administrator and analyst at the Democratic National Committee, office manager & scheduler for a member of the House of Representatives, and community organizing on several state and federal campaigns in Iowa, Massachusetts, New Hampshire and New York.

Co-Chair – Angela Jones

Prior to becoming an award winning REALTOR in Washington DC, Angela’s career included 12 years as a broadcast journalist and 16 years as a public relations professional. She currently serves on the 2017 NAR State and Local Issues Policy Committee, is the 2016 Past President of the District of Columbia Association of REALTORS, and served on the 2016 NAR Diversity Committee.

Committee Members

Mark Achkin
Glenn Allen
Eric Axelson
Terri Bass
Gene Brake
Dwayne Carte
Patti Chafitelli
Della Davis
Timothy Garvey

Brenda Giacumbo
Jan Carolyn Hardy
Mark Hess
Matt Hoedt
Brandon Jordan
Allen Kavanaugh
Barry Kramer
Byron Lohman
Joe Lupariello

Tracie Mayo
Bob McCranie
Gonzalo Mejia
Stephen Nikkola
Richard Parillo
Josh Pennington
Geoff Rosenberger
Lynn Shepodd
Todd Shipman

Chris Slinker
Kevin Stern
Michael Stump
Christopher Suranna
Alex Tooke
Hank Vogt
Wade Williams
Wayne Woodyard

error: Content is protected !!